top of page


The mission of the California Urgent Care Association is to support the ongoing success of our membership through strong advocacy and education and to promote urgent care as a patient-oriented, accessible, and cost-effective sector of our healthcare system.


The California Urgent Care Association passionately cares about a variety of elements of that allow us to do what we do.  Learn more here.


Our board consists of a diverse team of specialists from medical directors, practicing urgent care physicians, to business and legal support.  To get involved, click here.


Tiffany Reguera, FNP - Immediate Past President

Tiffany Reguera, FNP graduated from California State University, Chico with a bachelor’s degree in nursing and Western University of Health Sciences with a master’s degree in nursing concurrently becoming a family nurse practitioner.  She is the managing owner of three walk-in clinics in far Northern California.  In addition to leading her three clinics, she has worked at the Department of Veterans Affairs for 20 years.  There she has been the chair of the VA’s Sierra Pacific Network Pain Committee.  She has volunteered with Project Hope in Central America providing healthcare services with the US Navy on the USS Boxer.  Tiffany is interested in continuing the work of UCAOA to expand urgent care services.  She is passionate about the future of urgent care and promoting it is a necessary component of healthcare in our communities.  Tiffany is happily married with two boys, ages 7 and 9.  She enjoys dabbling in real estate and traveling.  She lives in Redding, CA.

Board Member:  2019-present

President Elect:  2020-2021

President:  2021-2022

Screen Shot 2019-07-20 at 9.38.00 AM.png

Scott Prysi, MD - Board Member

Dr. Prysi earned his undergraduate degree from Washington and Lee University, his medical degree from the University of Virginia and his Master of Architecture degree from the University of California at Berkeley. He worked as both a healthcare architect and physician for several years before taking a full-time position as an Urgent Care provider with Doctors On Duty Medical Clinics in Monterey, CA in 2004. He became Medical Director of the group in 2014 and has focused on the incorporation Primary Care and Specialty services into their nine clinics. He is a passionate believer in evidenced based medicine and has developed “Best Practice” guidelines for the use of narcotics and anti-biotics throughout his organization.  As a member of the Physician Advisory Group for the Central California Alliance for Health, he helped create and initiate a successful pilot program to divert MediCal patients from the ER to Urgent Care Centers. He is currently developing a Telemedicine platform for Doctors On Duty to meet the future needs of its’ growing patient population. He is an avid tennis player and downhill skier and lives in Monterey, CA.

Board Member:  2018-present

President Elect:  2019-2020

President:  2020-2021

Brett Walls, MBA - Treasurer

Brett began his career in software development of the applications for downstream oil & gas refueling centers.  After nearly two decades of expansion from only West Coast US operations to global operations in 161 countries, he shifted gears and partnered with a primary care pediatrician to open a practice in Redlands, California.  Almost 10 years later and over 10,000 patients cared for, he began working with a large children’s hospital in Southern California to expand their operations into the urgent care space, which is where he works today.  He’s passionate about health care delivery from a patient’s perspective, persistently finding the balance between patient care, operational efficiency, and fiscal responsibility.  Supporting Brett are three under-graduate degrees in business (Marketing, Accounting, and Business Administration) as well as his Masters in Business Administration. He enjoys spending time with his family globe-trotting with snow sports and water sports and is avid in his adoption of technology.

Founding Board Member: 2017-

President-Elect:  2017-2018

President:  2018-2019

Immediate Past President: 2019-2020

Treasurer:  2020-present

RGH protrait high res.jpg

Roger Hicks, MD - Secretary

Dr. Hicks earned his BA from Brown University and his MD from Cornell University Medical College.  He completed his Family Practice residency at UC Davis, and became board certified in Family Practice and Emergency Medicine.  A Director of the Urgent Care Association of America from 2011 to 2017, he served on its Executive Committee, and as its Treasurer and then Secretary. He is currently on the Health and Public Policy and Awards Committees of UCAOA.  He is a founder and current Board member of the Urgent Care Assurance Company, a malpractice company specializing in urgent care.  Drawn to Nevada County by the Yuba River, he is the founding president of SYRCL, the South Yuba River Citizens League, a watershed-based grassroots advocacy organization now in its 35th year.  He is owner of Yubadocs Urgent Care in Grass Valley, CA.

Founding Board Member:  2017-

Founding Chapter President:  2017-2018

Immediate Past President:  2018-2019

Secretary:  2018-2020

Omid Akbari.png

Omid Akbari, MBA - Board Member

Omid has more than 20 years of experience in leadership and business development. After graduating from medical school, Omid began his career as a public health officer and ER physician. He then transitioned to leadership and business development in the health and pharmaceutical industry. After completing an executive MBA program, he transitioned to retail healthcare in the urgent care and occupational health sector, focusing on leadership, practice management, and administration. He oversees the operations of two urgent care and occupational health clinics in Southern California. He is also CEO of California MSK MSO, which provides management, financial, HR, revenue cycle management, and marketing services to medical groups in California. Omid’s interests are strategy, marketing, and lean leadership.

Board Member:  2018-present

President:  2019-2020


Claudio Varga - President

Bio coming soon!

Board Member:  2020-present

President: 2022-2023

bottom of page